Inverted Karma

  

There is a popular saying where I come from and it says something like we all are carriers in life: we are constantly walking the same roads, therefore we will all cross ways at some point. If I pass you on my way and you do not help me, there is a possibility that I see you in the same situation at some point and I might choose not to help you, so be aware.

I think it is the earthly way of explaining karma.

We all understand how karma works. It is universal justice put into practice. Or so we would like to believe. We all figure that we have to do good to receive good. But what happens when we have received bad and later we have the opportunity to do bad? What happens when karma turns around and harms someone who’s harmed you first?

If the wheel spins and it is your time to be the lucky one, should you help the unlucky one? Is it bad karma to go against karma? Or is it bad karma to not do anything?

In the example of the carriers that I explained above, if I don’t help someone who hasn’t helped me first, are we even? Is it one action designed to counterbalance the previous one or does karma work like mileage points that you endlessly accumulate?

Are we even allowed to decide that something has happened because of karma or are we just not the ones to decide?

In the end it’s all about whether we are constantly creating karma and whether we are significant enough to be an active part of it.

Would you still call it karma though, or reciprocity? I guess this line of thought can be expanded and extended forever, so I will leave it to each of you to debate and decide.

We’ll do the best we can I am sure.

 

(This post best read while listening to :

Caring is Creepy by The Shins)

