Sticky Behaviors

20140622-150442-54282028.jpg

 

Sticky behaviors are those things we do, whether consciously or unconsciously, the ways we act just out of habit, because we’ve taught ourselves to do it like that.
They are customs, they could be things that we have learned or things that were engraved in our DNA when we were born.
These behaviors are like drops of thick glue.
Sometimes you don’t even realize what these behaviors or reactions are, let alone trying to change them.

I am traveling for a few weeks outside my home country. Getting to know Southern France to be more specific.
The value and the heavy role that culture plays in our learning process is so underestimated. There are so many ways we thought were right when it ends up they could be not right at all. And of course it works the other way around.

Identifying and getting to know our “sticky behaviors” will bring us closer to changing them, as well as realizing other people’s sticky behaviors will bring us closer to accepting them.

One of my stickiest behavior is to downplay and pretend I never wanted the things that I don’t have.
Another one is not minding constant change if that helps to avoid having to unwillingly lose people or circumstances on my way.

If I don’t get rid of this glue soon enough it’ll mean that I might be accepting a new job that’ll require me to pack up my things and move to somewhere the UK as soon as I’m back.

Then I’ll start all over again.
Then I’ll keep downplaying…

 

(This post best read while listening to:
Strange Vine by Delta Spirit)

One thought on “Sticky Behaviors

  1. I see your point ****; our culture (trips, experiences, etc.) influence our learning process. It should be great that we could identify our “sticky behaviours” and to accept other people behaviours. I also understand that it’s not easy to feel pretty comfortable at one place, without thinking of other places to live, because the human beings have special people or experiences outside. Finally, I hope that you get rid your “sticky behaviours”, so we will be able to learn with you, because you’re an excellent example for all of us.

    Like

Comments are closed.