The Kindness of Strangers

20140122-224815.jpg

Been thinking today about it while driving a seemingly short but painful drive. Painful because of the wounds that it opens.
Every time.
Full of tears as I leave,
but emptied out and on my way to another empty place,
so I can feel full and then whole again,
not like I’m missing a big piece of myself.
Not ever again.

So sometimes life throws a sharp knife right at your throat, and sometimes there is someone to stop it for you. Sometimes that someone is not a loved one, it is not a friend, it is not anyone you’ve ever met before. Until they stop that knife before it stabs you. Or before you can stab yourself with it. There’s the tenderness, the understanding, the encouragement, the support, the appreciating, the good wishes, the missing me, the not judging. They’re just there to hold you tight and to stop your speeding fall. Is it possible they could be angels? I wish I could tap my heels and give them all wings.

We are not aware of the difference we make in people until someone makes it for us.

So in case it ever gets too late I should thank you strangers for your acts of kindness. Now I can still try to believe in humans as a race, in people as a hope, and at times, I even allow myself to think about life as a gift again. And thank you stranger, because without you particularly I would be lost. Without you I don’t think I would be here.

(This post best read while listening to:
Personal Jesus by Depeche Mode)

2 thoughts on “The Kindness of Strangers

  1. “There’s the tenderness, the understanding, the encouragement, the support, the appreciating, the good wishes, the missing me, the not judging”. I really liked these words because I am sure that there are strangers that give all of these good emotions. Are there angels? I do not know, but if they were, I would like that they were as you.

    Like

Comments are closed.