Available Diversity

This is a picture of the vegetable section of a local supermarket.
I couldn’t help but take a picture and admire the colors, the diversity of the display and of everything that was available.

Choices, choices… We are overwhelmed by them if we stop and think.

The problem about having too many choices is the fear of being wrong. But what about those decisions that others make for us?
I’ve recently lived a situation in which a very important decision in the life of someone was taken by somebody else without even noticing. Scary. If I’m ever confined to a bed I’d like to see my life companion before I finally go, no matter whether because of an illness he might or might not recognize me. Seeing him one last time at least seems absolutely necessary for my soul. It wouldn’t seem right otherwise. It wouldn’t seem right that other people would decide for us.

To me it all comes down to wanting to be able to decide. And obviously being able to change my mind if I want to. At any given time. Ultimate decisions and sudden life turns make me (very) dizzy. But no matter how hard I’ve been trying to keep my life simple and “reversible”, there are always surprises on the way and we suppose (or we are told) that those surprises are the beauty of it. :O

On the other hand, if I had to choose between having too many choices or just one (of none), my answer would be easy: leave it up to me, I would prefer to decide and regret it whenever I need to or feel like… 😦

Is there any conclusion? No idea, to be honest… I guess I would always like to make my own decisions. Unfortunately I am realizing that once you’re an adult and you’re able to make them, there is a point when the older you get the more often your decisions are less up to you and more up to “life” (whatever that means).

If I can not decide, I am losing my freedom… And that makes me feel like I’m standing on top of a very high building, even though I am not afraid of heights.

If only the parachute was guaranteed… 🙂

