The Things We Leave Behind

2013-07-13 14.40.40-1

Every time we go through turbulent times we tend to think about life and death, about being born, getting old and so on. Also on things we make, we keep, we lose or lost, or we should have sent away way before we did. 😉 Of course when I say things, I also mean people.

We have all heard (and tried very often but succeeded from time to time) the carpe diem, the seize the day approach to life.

But, have we taken the time to realize what will happen after all that day-seizing? When I am no longer here, what am I going to leave behind?

Also, to those who are going to leave before me, what did I give them? What are they keeping with them when they depart?

Most unfortunately, there are certain things I can not give to those who are departing now.

Most of us will leave behind a family. And by family I like to use the broadest meaning of the word: family as the one we were born into, family as the one we might have created and family as the one we  had been consciously acquiring for years (our dearest close friends).

The same way we fill our memory “pool” with daily experiences (you can check out a previous post about that topic here: https://thehabitante.wordpress.com/2013/06/30/take-a-dive/), we are filling other people’s lives with our interactions.

So don’t leave anything unwritten, don’t leave anything unsaid. I wish I knew more about people who are no longer around. And I hope that when I leave, people who stay know everything they want to know about me. That feeling of having missed out on something or someone must be one of the most dreadful ones a human being can experience when the moment comes when we have to leave or we have to see somebody leave.

That is one of the reasons this blog exists: if someone wants to know me better (on in a different way) once I’m gone, here’s an insight of my life and my thoughts. Therefore an insight of me.

